The Goldilocks Approach

I’ve written a little bit about my recent endeavors in web site design and development. To cut to the chase, I used Twitter-Bootstrap and the MultiMarkdown CMS as the main components of the site I’ve been working on. I’m really pleased with the final result, especially given that it’s the second site I’ve ever built, and the first that I’ve built using straight up code.

I took a lot of time along the way to research responsive web design. To me, it was clear that this newly emerged set of principles was less a trend and more a paradigmatic shift. Then, about three weeks ago, I stumbled into The Goldilocks Approach to responsive web design. I can’t say it’s anything like a replacement for a complete package å la Foundation or Bootstrap, but it accomplishes the fundamentals of RWD, and with a damn good bit of aplomb.

The Goldilocks Approach takes a slightly different tact when it comes to getting a page (or, more appropriately, the DOM elements) to resize, rearrange, re-whatever. Their method is remarkably parsimonious and works with exceedingly little code. It is a pleasant site to see a couple of hundred lines of code yield a beautifully responsive site as compared to Bootstrap’s many thousands.[1] Writing about it here would only serve to repeat what was already written. Go get it on GitHub or read all about it here.


  1. I say this with the full realization that those thousands of lines are there with very good reason, namely because of all of the components built into the Bootstrap framework.  ↩

Leave a comment