The Dynamo – Sort of Back In Action

It has been a long, long time since I’ve posted here. The fact is, I have really missed writing here, but all of my energies have been soaked up over the past six or so months with (in no particular order of importance):

  1. Having a second child with my wife
  2. Finishing my fellowship at the University of Kansas School of Medicine – Wichita
  3. Packing & moving from Wichita to Charleston, South Carolina
  4. Starting up as a private practitioner
  5. Launching Neuropsych Now
  6. Working on what I consider a super-great research project and accompanying (soon to be published!) manuscript
  7. Adjusting to all of the above

Those don’t tell the whole story, of course, and are not meant to demonstrate some kind of tale of adversity. It’s just a thumbnail sketch of what I’ve been up to lately.

I am hopeful and excited about getting back to writing about good and bad science soon. Stuff like the recent debacle wherein so many former NYPD and FDNY have been accused of defrauding Social Security. Judging by the accounts of how they were coached to appear disabled to their evaluators, I’d say it’s time for the Social Security disability administration to revisit their somewhat recent ban on paying for validity testing. I cannot say or know with true authority, but I’d bet my education that most competent neuropsychologists could have spotted a lot of these cases for what they were: patent dishonesty. I say this realizing that these individuals may actually have had what they believed were good reasons for doing what they did. Despite their reasoning, though, they ended up almost fooling a lot of people.

More science coming soon…promise

One response to “The Dynamo – Sort of Back In Action

Leave a Reply

