Quicksilver v1.0 is Finally Here

I absolutely love Quicksilver. I have been using it for something like six years, though probably longer. It’s indispensable and, along with nvAlt 2, it is the first thing I’d put on a new computer for myself or recommend for others.

The first ever non-beta version of Quicksilver, v1.0, has been out for a couple of weeks now, but I’ve been a little busy lately and haven’t had the free time to write about it. That, and the fact that writing about applications for the sake of a standalone review is not what I do; I think there are plenty of bloggers/reviewers out there that do a great job at that sort of thing. Quicksilver deserves an exception to this, though, since it’s so mission critical.

I use Quicksilver, as most do, as an application launcher a lot of the time. Stopping there would be a total waste, though, since I can do that from Spotlight (just use cmd+space to invoke, then start typing an application’s name). I also have programmed in custom triggers and synonyms (kind of like aliases for you shell aficionados), and use it for other things like manipulating and creating files. The list goes on and on.

Don’t hesitate. Head on over to the Quicksilver site and download it today. You can also watch a solid demo if you would like to see just a fraction of what it can do before you download.

Leave a Reply

