I Love Being a Huge Stats and Science Nerd

This blog says a lot about me, and one of the things it says about me is that I love statistics and methodology. I’ve recently gotten into learning about Bayesian probability. Since I’ve finished graduate school anytime I need to learn something new about stats or methods, the responsibility falls squarely on my shoulders. That’s okay. I’ve downloaded some R packages to make running the data easier. As an aside, it’s important to note that doing statistical analyses isn’t about being able to run various software like SPSS, SAS, or R. I’ve even been known to do some calculations on Post-it notes, or whatever is handy. Doing good research is less about what you use and much, much more about knowing how to ask a question and how to choose the right tests to answer that question. I digress.

Part of what I love being a huge stats and science nerd is getting some deeper meaning out of content like what you can see over at XKCD. Their most recent comic, which you can see here is obviously hilarious. Okay, maybe not obviously hilarious, but hilarious nonetheless. If you can appreciate the subtle and not-so-subtle differences between Bayseian and Frequentist probability theories, then you might also notice some “flaws” in this comic. There’s a discussion thread over at Cross Validated where folks have spent (probably too much) time hashing over this, so check it out. If you’re into that sort of thing.

By the way, I would like to extend a huge THANK YOU to all the readers of the Buddin Research Dynamo, which just got its 6000th visitor this past week! I’ve been writing here for a little over two years and write as much as I can, as often as I can. I’m fortunate to be able to do this without having to worry about whether or not it’s going to put shoes on my feet, and that means I have a lot of freedom to write what I want. I do NOT write posts for hits – I write because it’s a great outlet and I can write about topics that I find interesting – but it is nice to know that people find some of the content enjoyable, and it definitely motivates me to write more.

So, again, THANK YOU to all the readers out there, and please come back soon!

One response to “I Love Being a Huge Stats and Science Nerd

  1. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

